40 bags in 40 days

Image

Lent has started. This year, for some reason, I’ve had a difficult time deciding what to do for Lent. I’ve given up, I’ve added, I’ve done lots of different things – all in an attempt to bring me closer to God during this 40 days of self-evaluation. 

This past year I’ve chewed on the idea of what it means to “simplify” in life. This came about after a church member gave me a simple pin that simply had the word “simplify” written on it. The thought of simplifying life is, well, not simple at all! In fact, I have found it to be a bit daunting.

But it’s been on my mind. A lot. 

As a United Methodist pastor who has moved across the country in the last 3 years, I think I have simplified a lot! I purged like crazy to get everything onto ONE U-Haul truck to come from NC to Oregon. But it is amazing how, in these past 3 years, I have managed to accumulate way too much stuff. And not only physical stuff, but emotional stuff too.

I found this idea about 40 Bags in 40 Days on Facebook and thought GREAT! This opportunity will help me start to simplify stuff and hopefully as I clean/sort/decide/purge, I can do the same in my spiritual life. I hate to clean and I’m not particularly fond of looking inward….but that’s the point, right?

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and put within me a right spirit.” Psalm 51:10

About preachermom

a passionate woman of God who believes in living the truth; in being Christ in the world; and in inspiring others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

