Let it Shine!

man-sun-illuminationToday the sun is out full force at my Oregon home. Yes, we do get sunshine from time to time. I love to be out on days like this, absorbing the rays. Even if it is cold out, I find a way to put myself in the “shine.”

One thing I don’t like however, is that as the sun shines in through my dirty windows, it illuminates all my dust, and dog hair, and dirt on the floors. YUK. I’m gonna have to vacuum. I’m gonna have to dust and clean.

But today I was reminded that it is a GOOD thing that those unclean places are revealed. By illuminating them, the sun allows me time to work on the dirty places. After all, I’d hate to be caught by an unexpected guest with tufts dog hair floating in the air. And I don’t mean just an occasional tuft, I mean more than that.

I believe that we get comfortable with our dirty places. And that we are willing to let others glimpse some of the dirt, but not all of it. By allowing the illuminating light to shine in on it, we are reminded that we need to work on things!

Perhaps that is why Christians are reluctant to allow the light of Christ to fully shine into their hearts – the dirt will surely be illuminated. The human inclination is to hide our deepest dirt, our internal hurts, our failures, and more; but the Divine inclination is to light up all of that junk so that we can work on it!

I was talking to a friend the other day about our favorite scripture. We talked about the stories we loved. She said to me, “I also love John 3: 17 – because we always leave that part out. We remember John 3: 16, but then don’t put it with the rest of the story.” Wise words.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him may not perish but may have eternal life. Indeed, God did not send the Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him.”

The illuminating light of Christ did not come so that in shining the light on our dirty junk we would be condemned, but that we would be saved! NOT CONDEMNED! That we would, with the help of the Spirit, work on cleaning up, work on growing and allowing the love and light of Christ to transform us into who we are supposed to be in the world.

So today, I am thankful for the illuminating SON shining brightly to show all the junk I hide in my heart, so that I can, with the love and grace and guidance of the Divine, begin to clean it up. And while cleaning up is not an easy job, it is in that work that I’m being saved. So, I’m thankful for the sun shining on my dirty floors. Well, sort of…

About preachermom

a passionate woman of God who believes in living the truth; in being Christ in the world; and in inspiring others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

